The old towns of Valle d’Itria

Valle d’Itria is a place of transit between the Murgia  hills and the flat plains that run along the Adriatic coast, south of Monopoli. At the time of the Spanish domination, it was part of the Terra d’Otranto that extended to the extreme eastern part of the peninsula. Over time Valle d’Itria increased its connotation of high creativity expressed in many ways and in particular in the original architectural design and the beauty of its buildings.

Creativity and originality distinguish this lucky land, blessed by the Madonna di Odegidria, whose effigy is kept in the Cappuccini Church of Martina Franca. The patroness of the travelers, the Madonna of Odegidria, from which the Valle d’Itria takes its name, was often depicted in the crossroads to protect those who passed through those places.

Valle d’Itria extension,

The territory of the Valle d’Itria extends in the southern part of the Murge plateau comprising the municipalities of Locorotondo, CisterninoMartina Franca, Alberobello, Ceglie Messapica, Ostuni and it is characterised by the presence of the Trulli, the typical circular stone buildings with conical roofs ending with an embellishment pinnacle.