Alberobello offers the most spectacular and fascinating concentration of trulli. The town has been recognised by UNESCO in 1996 as a World Heritage Site. There are about 1500 conic roofs in the center of town.
Everything started at the time of the Kingdom of Naples, when there was an obligation to pay a huge contribution for those who had built new houses using the mortar. In order to avoid the over-taxing, the local peasants strove to build the new houses using only the limestone that abounded in the area and that lent itself well to be cut and shaped using the simple tools available at that time. This is the main reason why the typical conic roofs of the trulli were built.
It was Giangirolamo II, called Guercio delle Puglie, who in 1635 built a small inn with only limestone without the use of mortar, thus giving impetus to the construction of a cluster of small houses of simple circular design with whose base served as a solid support for the conic top closure that normally ended with a decorative pinnacle.
The climb that leads to the charming church of Sant’Antonio, that was built using the same construction technique of the trullo, is surrounded by two wings of trulli built with continuity and without interruption one next to the other.
A the top of the small hill, just before reaching the Church, on the right there is a group of six trulli on which are depicted some Christian symbols: the Sun, the Dove, the Moon, the Cross, the pierced Heart and the tree-like Cross.
The Sun represents the supreme divinity, the Dove radiates peace, the Moon brings darkness, the Cross is the symbol of the sacrifice of Christ made in an attempt to save humanity, the pierced heart of Mary symbolises the pain . The tree-like Cross indicates the connection with the afterlife, with heaven and hell.